New Smiths Tribute drops December 13th from American Laundromat Records

The Wedding Present, Doug Martsch (Built To Spill), William Fitzsimmons,
Tanya Donelly,  Telekinesis, Greg Laswell, and others cover The Smiths

Mystic, CT – November 1, 2011; American Laundromat Records has enlisted a herd of indie-rock luminaries — including The Wedding Present, Built to Spill’s Doug Martsch, Throwing Muses co-founder Tanya Donelly, Telekinesis and Stars — to contribute covers of more than 20 classic songs by The Smiths for a new tribute album to be released December 13, 2011.

The double-CD set is available for pre-order in three configurations: a $13 bundle, which includes the CD and a one-inch promo pin; a $20 bundle, which includes the CD, a limited-edition 7-inch with three more covers, a download of those tracks, and the pin; or a $35 bundle, which includes the CD, the 7-inch, the downloads, the pin, a T-shirt and a “private preview of the album.”

In a fitting touch, American Laundromat Records secured a photo of ’60s U.K. pop star Sandie Shaw for the cover art; Shaw was a favorite of both Morrissey and Johnny Marr who, in 1984, covered The Smiths’ “Hand in Glove.”

Please, Please, Please: a tribute to The Smiths | Tracklist

Disc 1

1. “Panic” — Kitten

2. “Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before” — The Rest

3. “What Difference Does It Make?” — Joy Zipper

4. “Shoplifters of the World Unite” — Tanya Donelly w/Dylan in the Movies

5. “Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want” — William Fitzsimmons

6. “I Won’t Share You” — Sixpence None the Richer

7. “Well I Wonder” — Sara Lov

8. “Half a Person” — Greg Laswell

9. “Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me” — Dala

10. “Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others” — Chikita Violenta
Disc 2

1. “Sheila Take A Bow” — Telekinesis

2. “Is It Really So Strange?” — Solvents

3. “Hand In Glove” — The Wedding Present

4. “How Soon Is Now?” — Mike Viola and The Section Quartet

5. “There Is a Light That Never Goes Out” — Trespassers William

6. “Rubber Ring” — Girl in a Coma

7. “I Know It’s Over” — Elk City

8. “What She Said” — Katy Goodman (La Sera, Vivian Girls)

9. “London” — Cinerama

10. “Reel Around the Fountain” — Doug Martsch (Built To Spill)


Exclusive Limited Edition Bonus 7-inch (pre-order “B” & “C” customers only)

1. “Asleep” — Stars

2. “Girl Afraid” — C’est la Mort

3. “Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want” — The Caulfield Sisters




Media Links

Album Art (Print Quality):

Album Art (Web Quality):

Pre-order link: