Scorching Texas Summer Inspires Original Take on Classic Winter Melodies

DALLAS, TX – October 20, 2011 – Singer-songwriter Vanessa Peters today announced release dates for her first-ever holiday recording, “The Christmas We Hoped For.” The twelve song album, recorded during the hottest Texas summer on record, features holiday standards such as “Winter Wonderland” and “White Christmas” as well as modern songs including a cover of “All That I Want” by The Weepies. The CD will be releasedon Amazonon October 25th, with release oniTunes and everywhere else on November 1st.

“I was building out a home studio and wanted to record some tracks to test out the acoustics. Temperatures were hitting 108 in Texas but on a lark, my producer and I decided to record some Christmas songs,” said the singer. “Winter Wonderland” was recorded in my living room. We had to turn off the A/C to make sure the noise didn’t show up on the track, and it was just brutally hot. Despite the heat, we were having so much fun that we just kept going. I chose my absolute favorite songs; I wanted to play what I love.”

Peters rounds out the disc with a new composition and title track “The Christmas We Hoped For.” “I tried to capture the wistful optimism and nostalgia many people feel at Christmas,” said Peters. “The song is about taking a deep breath and trying to leave behind the regrets and misunderstandings that have accumulated throughout the years, and putting them aside, if only for a little while.”

The music on the album was primarily a collaboration between Peters and her producer, Rip Rowan. Grammy-winning guitarist JoeReyes also contributed to the album on songs such as “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year,” and “The Christmas Song.”SalimNourallah, who co-produced some of Peters’ past records, joined in on some of the full-band songs.

Peters is currently recording a new album which was crowd-funded by her fans throughKickstarter, a company that helpsinterestingcreativeprojectsgetofftheground. This will be her eighth album, and for this record, Peters is working with a new band to create a fresh sound that is more indie pop/rock than her previous release, “Sweetheart Keep Your Chin Up,” which had an alt-country feel. Fans can look for this exciting new CD in spring 2012.

Track Listing

  1. All That I Want
  2. Please Come Home for Christmas
  3. The Christmas Song
  4. Oh Holy Night
  5. The Christmas We Hoped For
  6. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  7. All I Want for Christmas Is You
  8. What Child Is This (Medley)
  9. I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day
  10. Winter Wonderland
  11. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year
  12. White Christmas

To hear tracks from “The Christmas We Hoped For” please visit: or .

Follow Vanessa Peters

● On the Web

● On Twitter:

● On Facebook

● On MySpace